Chandra X-Ray Observatory

Chandra Proposal Information

Submit a Proposal (RPS)
Call for Proposals (CfP)
Proposers' Observatory Guide (POG)
CXC HelpDesk
DDT and/or TOO Requests

Cycle 19 proposal deadline:
March 16, 2017, 6PM EDT (this is a 24 hour postponement of the original deadline)

Follow us here:
twitter facebook googleplus

What's New this Cycle?


03/13/2017 Chandra Proposal Deadline POSTPONED 24 hours
The new deadline is THURSDAY MARCH 16, 2017 at 6pm EDT

12/15/2016 The Cycle 19 Call for Proposals and Proposers' Observatory Guide have been Released. Refer to the What's New page for a list of the most significant changes in Cycle 19.

12/15/2016 Please be aware that a complete proposal will include the following components as separate files:

   1: Proposal Form (submitted through RPS; required)
   2: Science Justification (separate file upload in RPS; required)
   3: Previous Chandra Experience List (separate file upload in RPS; required if appropriate)
   4: Curriculum vitae (separate file upload in RPS; optional)

Proposal Related Documentation
Instrument and Observatory Information
Proposal Threads (from Cycle 18 unless marked updated)
Archive and Theory Proposals
  • Proposals to fund archival research or theoretical work using public Chandra data should be submitted through RPS. Archival proposals must include a short justification of costs. Refer to the CfP for specific details.

Observing Proposal Preparation and Submission
Cost Proposals and Grant Information
Tools to Aid in Proposal Preparation
Targets Observed and Scheduled with Chandra
Count Rate Estimation and Simulators
Observation Visualization and Planning
Useful Proposal Preparation Tools
Smithsonian Institute Smithsonian Institute

The Chandra X-Ray Center (CXC) is operated for NASA by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory. 60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138 USA.   Email: Smithsonian Institution, Copyright © 1998-2017. All rights reserved.