Chandra X-Ray Observatory

Chandra Users' Committee

Meeting Agendas and Presentations
Reports from the CUC and CXC Responses

Last Meeting: October 23, 2014

CXC response to the CUC recommendations of the thirty-fourth Users' Committee meeting (22-23 Oct 2013, issued on 17 Jan 2014)

Purpose of the Users' Committee

A brief description of the Chandra Users' Committee, including membership guidelines and the Committee's role in the greater Chandra community.

Chandra Observing Policy

Please see chapter 3 of the CfP

Contacting the Chandra Users' Committee

The Users' Committee represents the larger astronomical community. If you have concerns about Chandra, you may contact one or more of the members listed below. Click here to email the whole Users' Committee.

A summary of the observing policy of the Chandra X-ray Observatory, including information on proprietary periods, large projects, and distribution of observing time between GOs and GTOs.

Chandra Users Committee Membership List

Jon Miller (Chair)University of
Arjun Dey (NOAO)
Erica Ellingson
Mike EracleousPennsylvania State
Matteo GuainazziEuropean Space
Carol Lonsdale NRAO
Paul Martini Ohio State University
Feryal OzelUniversity of
Samar Safi-HarbUniversity of
John Stauffer IPAC
Yasunobu Uchiyama Rikkyo University

Ex Officio, Non-Voting
Jeff HayesNASA HQ
Stefan ImmlerNASA HQ
Wilt SandersNASA HQ
Allyn TennantNASA/MSFC, Project
Martin WeisskopfNASA/

CXC Coordinator
Andrea PrestwichCXC Director's

Previous Users' Committee Members


The Users' Committee has generally met twice per year, with a shift to one in-person meeting each Fall starting in 2011.

Last modified: 03/10/15

Smithsonian Institute Smithsonian Institute

The Chandra X-Ray Center (CXC) is operated for NASA by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory. 60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138 USA.   Email: Smithsonian Institution, Copyright © 1998-2014. All rights reserved.